2013 ORMTA Music Writing Competition Results

Congratulations to all students who participated in our 2013 competition and to their teachers, too! The teacher name associated with each student is marked in bold.

The ORMTA would like to thank this year's adjudicator, Joanne Bender.

First place recipients will have part of their score featured in an upcoming issue of Notes Magazine and will represent Ontario in the CFMTA National Student Composer Competition.

Class P1 (8 years and under-instrumental) 

1st        Not Awarded

2nd        Nina Zabojinkova, Kingston

                        Martha Hill Duncan

3rd        Sara Buzdugan, Ottawa

                        Lorraine Griffith

Class A1 (11 years and under)

1st        Joseph K Naszady, Kingston

                        Loretta U'Ren-Kivinen

2nd        Maala Brickley, Ottawa

                        Pam Kennedy

3rd        Storm Lussier, Brantford

                        Laura DeVries

               Chloe Hataley, Ottawa

                        Pam Kennedy


Honourable Mention

Ryan Spurgeon

                       Pam Kennedy

Nicholas Chronis

                       Tanya Tkachenko


Class A2 (11 years and under – vocal)

1st        Not Awarded

2nd       Not Awarded 

3rd        Lili Tompkins, Ajax-Pickering

                        Jennifer Faric


Class B1 (15 years and under – instrumental)


1st        Anika-France Forget, Ottawa

                        Colin Mack

2nd       Adam Adler, North York/York

                        Katya Pine

              Alexander Nediak, Kingston

                              John Burge

3rd         Anthony Kubelka, Ottawa

                              Colin Mack

Honorable Mention

Tony Domzella, Kitchener-Waterloo

                        Kristen Penner

Madeleine Davis, Ottawa

                        Hoda Nassim

John Harder, Ottawa

                        Pam Kennedy

Class B2 (15 years and under - vocal)

1st        Anika-France Forget, Ottawa

                        Colin Mack 

2nd        Troy Lebane, North York/York

                        Katya Pine

3rd        Mira Meickle, Hamilton-Halton

                        Linda Fletcher


Class C  (19 years and under - any style)

1st        Peter Bedford, Hamilton-Halton 

                        Philip Corke

2nd        Mark McGugan, Ottawa

                        Lorraine Griffith

               Joseph Freund, Kingston

                        John Burge

3rd         Pamela Ciorich, Barrie 

                        Cheryl Grham

               Erik Frechette, Timmins

                        Ron Spadafore

Class D (Open)

1st         Paul Chearev, Hamilton-Halton 

                        Leon Karan

2nd        Katerina Gimon, Hamilton-Halton

                        Philip Corke

3rd         Peter Koning, Hamilton-Halton

                        Philip Corke

Ontario Winners - CFMTA Music Writing Competition

  • Anika France (1st place, Class B2)
  • Peter Bedford (1st place, class C)
  • Peter Bedford - Helene Dahlstrom Award

Find a Teacher | Privacy PolicyContact ORMTA

© 2019, Ontario Registered Music Teachers’ Association

ORMTA on FacebookORMTA on TwitterORMTA on LinkedinORMTA's YouTube Channel
Social Media Policy
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software