2012 Convention Recap

ORMTA Provincial Convention
July 22-25, 2012 | Holiday Inn | Burlington, Ontario
Hosted by ORMTA Hamilton-Halton Branch

Thank you to the following individuals and groups for making this Convention such a great success!:
  • City of Burlington & Mayor Rick Goldring
  • Mike Wallace, MP for Burlington
  • ORMTA Hamilton-Halton Branch Convention Committee: Andrea Battista (Chair),  June Caskey, Philip Corke, Gregory Cross, Diana Emery, Linda Fletcher, Karen Gross, Kamara Hennessey, Warren Nicholson, Catherine Richardson, Joan Sinclair 
  • Tourism Burlington
  • Clinicians & Presenters: Anne Francis, Dr. Laurel Trainor, Dr. David Gerry, Philip Corke, Roland Packer, Jim Norris, Valerie Tryon, John Fanning, Dr. Jennifer Snow, Marie Baron, Linda Fletcher, Cottonwood Brass Quintet, Westfield Heritage Village, Susan Ambrose, Natalie Spurrell & the Spurrell Studio Choir
  • Keynote Speaker: Maestro Boris Brott
  • Competition Adjudicators: Valerie Tryon, John Fanning, Dr. Christopher Foley
  • Exhibitors: A Different Drummer Books, CFMTA, CNCM, Darlene Irwin, Dong Dong Dong, Eye Quest, Gloria Lekie, Lynne Stenlund, Leslie Music Supply, Long & McQuade, Mayfair Music Publications, Merriam Music, MetalWorks Institute, Music Gallery, Music Plus Corp, Musical Lives, Musictime, One Eye Publications, Opus II, Piano Technicians Guild, Plangere, RCM Examinations, Red Leaf Pianoworks, Solaris Live, Steve's Music Store, The Personal, Ultimate Music Theory, University of Ottawa, Yamaha Canada
  • Breakfast Sponsors:  Piano Technicians Guild, Frederick Harris Music, Norris-Whitney Communications 
  • Coffee Break Sponsors
  • Scholarship Donors:  Bridgman & Durksen, Court Stone Memorial scholarship, Craig Ferguson (Hugheen Ferguson Scholarship), Jean Collins, Judy Home, Music for Young Children, ORMTA Past Council Members’ Association, Piano Technicians Guild-Toronto Chapter, Sherman Su (Esther Su Memorial scholarship), Yamaha Canada, Barrie Branch ORMTA, Belleville Branch ORMTA, Bolton-Brampton-Caledon Branch ORMTA, Cambridge Branch ORMTA, Central Toronto Branch ORMTA, Etobicoke-Mississauga Branch ORMTA, Kenora Branch ORMTA, Kitchener-Waterloo Branch ORMTA, Newmarket & Area Branch ORMTA, North Bay Branch ORMTA, Oshawa & District Branch ORMTA, Ottawa Region Branch ORMTA, Sarnia Branch ORMTA, Scarborough Branch ORMTA, Thunder Bay Branch ORMTA, Timmins Branch ORMTA 
33 photo(s) Updated on: Tuesday, September 25, 2012
  • 2012 ORMTA Provincial Instrumental Competition: winner Tabitha Johnson alongside her teacher and ORMTA member, Cheryl Graham
  • 2012 ORMTA Provincial Instrumental Competition: winner Tabitha Johnson alongside Dr. Christopher Foley, adjudicator
  • 2012 ORMTA Provincial Instrumental Competition: runner-up Ellie Vogel alongside Ann Francis, representative of the Piano Technician's Guild - Toronto Chapter (scholarship donor)
  • Sarah Dufresne, soprano, winner of the 2012 ORMTA Provincial Vocal Competition, surrounded by adjudicators, John Fanning, Dr. Christopher Foley, and Valerie Tyron
  • 2012 ORMTA Young Artist Competition Winner, Nam Hee Kim alongside adjudicator, Valerie Tryon
  • 2012 ORMTA Young Artist Competition Winner, Nam Hee Kim mingling with audience members following the post-competition reception
  • Lobby of the Holiday Inn Burlington
  • High Tea & Performance by Matthew Jones (recorder) and Jan Overduin (organ) at St. Christopher's Anglican Church, part of Brott Music Festival.
  • Congratulations to pianist, Namhee Kim (centre)...winner of ORMTA's Young Artist Competition. Alongside runner-up, vocalist Jennifer Aiello (left), and one of the adjudicators, Valerie Tryon (right)
  • "The Care and Maintenance of Your Piano" presented by Anne Francis of the Piano Technicians Guild
  • Dr. Laurel Trainor, "What's going on in there? The Development of the Musical Mind"
  • ORMTA Convention attendees enjoyed a multitude of raffles, door prizes, and exhibitors
  • Dr. David Gerry, "How Early is Too Early? Musical Training and the Very Young"
  • Congratulations to all of ORMTA's Special Teacher Award recipients. Great lunch and fabulous AV tribute to all of the winners - brava Doranne Minotti!
  • Philip Corke and Roland Packer, The Playford Players - "Making It Up As We Go Along"
  • ACNMP/Contemporary Showcase presentation..."Made In Canada". A cavalcade of performers and composers talking about and performing great Canadian contemporary music!
  • Congratulations to Sarah Dufresne, soprano, who was the winner of the Provincial Vocal Competition. Positive comments from adjudicators, Dr. Christopher Foley, Valerie Tyron, and John Fanning
  • Provincial Instrumental Competition Results...Winner: Tabitha Johnson (front right). Runner-up: Ellie Vogel (front left). Congratulations to all 7 talented pianists for a beautiful evening of music!
  • "Self-Promotion 101", presented by Jim Norris of Norris-Whitney Communications.
  • Student Master Class with John Fanning (pictured here) and Valerie Tryon
  • AGM Luncheon
  • Members of ORMTA Ottawa Region Branch enjoying lunch at ORMTA Convention 2012
  • Dr. Jennifer Snow, "Connecting the Head and the Heart"
  • Masterclass with Marie Baron, "Acting Through Song in the Musical Theatre", assisted by Linda Fletcher
  • Performance by the Cottonwood Brass Quintet at the Banquet
  • Ron Spadafore (Secretary-Registrar), Frances Balodis (Past President), and Gunars Balodis enjoying the banquet.
  • ORMTA members having fun at the banquet!
  • "History of a Fashion Show" at the Banquet...celebrating the War of 1812 anniversary. Presented by the Westfield Heritage Village
  • The ceremonial handing over the gavel from outgoing provincial president, Charline Farrell (left) to our NEW provincial president, Sue Jones (right). Congratulations to both!!
  • Susan Ambrose, sponsored by Frederick Harris Music, "All the Music Singers Want in One Series", the Frederick Harris Resonance Series
  • Canada Sings, a concert of Canadian vocal repertoire performed by students of local ORMTA teachers and choral selections featuring the Spurrell Studio Choir, Natalie Spurrell, conductor
  • Closing Ceremonies. Special thanks to the Hamilton-Halton Branch, Convention Chair, Andrea Battista (pictured here), and the rest of the Convention Committee
  • 2012 ORMTA Provincial Convention Logo and Theme

Find a Teacher | Privacy PolicyContact ORMTA

© 2019, Ontario Registered Music Teachers’ Association

ORMTA on FacebookORMTA on TwitterORMTA on LinkedinORMTA's YouTube Channel
Social Media Policy
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software